Jampa’i Monlam - The Aspiration Prayer of Maitreya

Jampa’i Monlam - The Aspiration Prayer of Maitreya

with Tasks of Meditation

I. the path of accumulation 

The Seven Branch Offering


I prostrate to all the Buddhas
And to the Bodhisattvas,
Endowed with the divine eye of the sages,
And to the Śrāvakas as well.

I prostrate to bodhicitta
Which counteracts [birth in] all lower realms,
Perfectly shows the path to the higher realms,
And leads to no aging nor death.

Confession of Harmful Actions

Whatever negative actions I have done
Under the influence of an [afflicted] mind,
In the presence of the Buddhas,
I fully acknowledge them [all].

By the accumulation of any merit I have created
Through the three kinds of activities,
May my seed of omniscience [grow]
And may I [attain] awakening that never ends.

Offering and Rejoicing

Whatever offerings to the Buddhas
[That can be found] in realms of the ten directions
Are known to the Buddhas who rejoice in them;
I rejoice in [all] these [offerings].

I fully acknowledge all negative actions
[And] rejoice in all merit.
I prostrate to all the Buddhas.
May I attain supreme primordial wisdom.

Requesting the Buddha to Teach

I earnestly request the Bodhisattvas,
Who reside on the ten levels
In all the direction of the [worlds in the] ten directions,
To awaken into supreme enlightenment.

Once you have awakened into genuine enlightenment
And tamed the maras and their hordes,
May you turn the wheel of Dharma
So that all living beings may be healed.
With the sound of the great Dharma drum
May you free all sentient beings who are suffering.

Praying for the Buddha and Bodhisattvas to have a long life.   

Throughout inconceivable millions of kalpas
May you remain and teach the Dharma.
Mired in the swamp of desire,
Entangled in the strands of cyclic existence,
I am fettered by all that binds.
I supplicate those, supreme among humans, to look upon me.

The Buddhas do not blame
Sentient [beings] who are flawed.
With a loving heart for all sentient beings,
May [the Buddhas] free them from the ocean of cyclic existence.

II. the path of joining 

Bodhisattva Vow

Any perfect Buddhas who are present,
Those who have passed away, and those yet to come,
May I train following in their way
And engage in enlightened conduct.

How View of Emptiness establishes the Heart one takes on the Path

Having perfected the six Pāramitās,
May I liberate the six [families of] sentient beings.
Having actualized the six extraordinary faculties
May I reach unexcelled enlightenment.

[Future phenomena] are not born and [those past] will not occur;
[Present phenomena] have no [inherent] nature. There is no [actual] location.
There is no perception; there are no [outer] things.
May I realize the dharma[dhatu] which is empty.

According to the Buddhas, the great sages,
There are no [truly existent] sentient beings nor life force;
There is no [truly existent] individual [and] no nurturing [of a self].
May I realize the dharma[ta] where the self is not present.

An entity [such as] grasping onto a self and "mine"
Is not present within any [of the Pāramitās]
To benefit all sentient beings,
May I give with generosity free of avarice.

III. The path of seeing

The Six Pāramitās

1.) The first bhūmi, the Very Joyous

Since things do not exist as entities,
May my wealth appear spontaneously.
Since all things totally disintegrate,
May I perfect the Pāramitā of generosity.

IV. the path of meditation

The second bhūmi, the Stainless

Endowed with a flawless ethics [that is guided by] rules,
And an ethics that is completely pure,
With an ethics free of an arrogant mind
May I perfect the Pāramitā of ethics.

The third bhūmi, the Luminous

Just as the elements of earth, water, fire, and wind,
[Bodhisattvas] do not remain [caught by mental constructs];
[By attaining] patience, anger never arises,
May I perfect the Pāramitā of patience.

The fourth bhūmi, the Radiant

Through [the power of] previous perseverance
Having become stable, enthusiastic, and free of laziness,
And through a strong body and mind,
May I perfect the Pāramitā of perseverance.

The fifth bhūmi, Difficult to Cultivate

Through the samadhi [where all] is illusion-like,
Through the samadhi of the hero's stride,
And through the samadhi that is like a vajra,
May I perfect the Pāramitā of meditative concentration.

The sixth bhūmi, the Manifest

Through actualizing the three gates of full liberation,
The equal nature of the three times,
And the three types of knowing as well,
May I perfect the Pāramitā of Prajñā.


The seventh bhūmi, the Gone Afar

Through persevering in a bodhisattva's [practice],

The eighth bhūmi, the Immovable

[May I attain] the [kaya] praised by all the Buddhas,

The ninth bhūmi, the Good Intelligence
The luminous [kaya], and the kaya blazing with majesty.
[Thus] may my intention be fulfilled.

V. the path of no-more-learning

The tenth bhūmi, the Cloud of Doctrine

May [I be like] the famed Maitreya,
Who engaged in such a practice,
Perfected the Pāramitās,
And perfectly abides at the zenith of the tenth level.


Excerpt from the translation by Michele Martin with the assistance of Karl Brunnholzl and Chryssoula Zerbini under the guidance of Khenpo Tsultrim Gyamtso Rinpoche. For the complete text with commentary, please contact:

Marpa Institute for Translators

P.O. Box 4017

Kathmandu, Nepal

Marpa Foundation

10204 Miner Place

Cupertino, Ca 95014 USA

Marpa Translation Committee

Fliederweg 15

813 Starnberg, Germany

Contextual Path Formatting with the aspiration to benefit all by Leo Rivers

Thursday, January 5, 2012 7:08:15 AM, Cottage Grove OR


 Buddha Shakyamuni taught the following prayer of Maitreya in the forty-first chapter of the Ratnakuta Sutra. Bodhiruci

Ratnakuta (Skt. Ratnakūṭa; Tib. དཀོན་མཆོག་བརྩེགས་པ་, Wyl. dkon mchog brtsegs pa), or 'Heap of Jewels', is a collection of 49 sutras comprising one of the major sections into which the Tibetan Canon (Kangyur) is divided.

 © Leo Rivers 2013